Alumna of the Year Award

2020 Alumna of the Year Awards

Annual Alumna of the Year Award

Attentive to its Catholic heritage as a sponsored school of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, the Academy of Our Lady of Peace Alumna of the Year award is given to a woman whose values and accomplishments  are consistent with the mission, core values and ideals of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet and OLP. As she is a public representative of OLP for board members, faculty, staff, students, families, friends and the civic community, her selection is the culmination of a thoughtful process involving the OLP community.

The Academy of Our Lady of Peace will consider an alumna for this award whose personal, professional and/or social accomplishments reflect the core values of OLP and have brought honor and distinction to herself, OLP and her community through her positive presence in the world. This consideration will take place in a context of ethical concern and social responsibility in keeping with our Catholic heritage and teaching. OLP especially values education and lifelong learning, artistic expression, advancement in the areas of the sciences, technology and engineering, intellectual rigor, service to the “dear neighbor,” and the encouragement of religious faith. With a core mission, born out of the experience of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, of ensuring that each OLP student becomes all of which woman is capable, a strong female leader who has conducted herself with a spirit of gentleness, peace and joy in her demonstrated field of endeavor is held in high regard. This alumna exemplifies a woman of peace who will serve as an inspiration for future generations.

Past Winners

2020: Carla da Luz Boren '87 and Paola Avila '93
2019: Nina Sciuto-Morales '76
2018: Mary Caratan Sloper '58
2017: Jeanette (Prantil) Handelsman '64
2016: Sr. Virginia Rodee ‘53, RSCJ
2015: Amy (McKinney) Potter ’02, Rachel McKinney ’04 and Sara McKinney ‘07
2014: Margaret Wiedower ‘68
2013: Marguerite “Terry” Sorgi Camarata ‘77
2012: Martha Spiers Lepore ‘59
2011: Patricia Dougan Shinsky ‘57
2010: Silvia Fimbres de Ruiz ‘74
2009: Ruth Davis ‘69
2008: Alison Priske Adema ‘82
2006: Elizabeth Meza Huch ‘51
2007: Christine Haddad ‘69
2005: Kathleen Howard Thompson ‘75
2004: Marcella Kreizinger ‘27
2003: Sr. Kathleen Martin ‘44
2002: Nancy Ryan ‘58
2001: Kathleen Manzer McKaveney ‘83
2000: Karene Lemke Evenson ‘56
1999: Sr. Dolores Marie Gill ‘45
1998: Eve Ryan ‘46
1997: Beverlee Cendali ‘61
1996: Cecelia Shaw Thie ‘22
1995: Lisa Guy-Schall ‘70
1994: Sandra Qualiato Brue ‘62
1993: Barbara Harrison ‘68
1992: Ann Navarra ‘63
1991: Sr. St. Bernard Johnson ‘31
1990: Judi Putnam ’66 and Winfrey Willier Welch ’36
1989: Gladys Wilson Impastato ‘41
1988: Elisa Luna Sanchez ‘50
1987: Rosalie Bianchi Wisniew ‘63
1986: June Wilcox Bassett ‘36